2020 Property Tax Payments

Due to the increasing number of COVID-19 cases in Door County, public access to the Government Center is restricted through December 31, 2020. We are encouraging that tax payers mail in their payments and if they want a receipt to include a self-addressed stamped envelope with their payments. 

We also have online payment options that are outlined in the payment information tab on the left. Please keep in mind that there are service fees to do an online payment that the county does not pay for so that would be in addition to the amount of your tax payment. 

No outside banks will be collecting taxes on the counties behalf as they also have lobbies that are closed to the public. 

 Please keep in mind that the Towns of Clay Banks, Nasewaupee & Union collect their own payments in the months of December and January. Please contact the towns treasurer for how they are handling payments this year. 

If you have any questions please feel free to contact the Treasurers office. 

Thank you,

Jay Zahn 

Door County Treasurer

Real Estate

The Treasurer is a Constitutional Officer, elected every four years by the voters of Door County.

The County Treasurer receipts all monies that are transacted in the County with the bulk of those receipts being the collection of property taxes.

The County Treasurer collects property taxes for fifteen of the nineteen municipalities within the County. 

In four municipalities, first half collections are made in January by the local treasurers. July payments are made to the County Treasurer.

Non-payment of taxes for three years can result in eventual foreclosure by the County. The property will later be sold to recover taxes and assessments.